Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)

Rating: ★★★★★

Genre: Mystery
Pages: 455
Format: Audiobook
Publication Date: April 30, 2013

Summary:  After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office. Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.

Review: Yes, I only read this because J.K. Rowling was revealed as the author. No, her being the author will not effect my review. Now that that’s over with, onto the review and a confession. The confession is I’ve never really read, nor liked, mystery novels. I know that the mystery novel is literature’s first and favorite genre, but I’ve never felt compelled towards it. If more mystery novels are like this, I would like to read them so please recommend them to me. I found this book interesting and fun to read and it really made me interested in the mystery genre.

I liked that there were dozens of possible subjects, multiple people with shaky alibis and motive, and an entire lifetime of mystery surrounding Lula Landry. I didn’t think I was going to like Strike at first because he’s a bit of a brute but he’s an interesting character and an even more interesting PI. Underestimated, scared, and yet unwilling to let emotions and situation detract him from his work, he’s the perfect detective. His assistant, Robin plays off him perfectly in my mind and enriches the story. She softens his edges and continues to amaze him with her natural abilities to predict his needs and perform detective work.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this read. I liked the audiobook because there was so much dialogue and the reader did all the different voices so well. I just checked Goodreads and a sequel is planned for 2014. Call me a band-wagoner, but I am so excited.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)

Leave a Reply

